top of page

DKHP Journey - Closing Chapter 5 & 6

This blog will be THE END of the DKHP Journey Series. Woah, just like that, my 5th semester is done. That’s like a semi graduation for me HAHHA I still have an internship to go through, then I’m officially done with my 3 years of diploma. Crazy. Anyway, not much to talk about either tbh, so let’s just go ahead and close this chapter. (Did that sound cringe to you too? HAHA) Edit: Ehem, I am resuming this blog, which is about a month after I have literally ENDED my internship HAAHAHHA. Yes I did not manage to publish this blog in time :D So, now, this blog will be a combination of Chapter 5 and 6! Since I have nothing much to write anyway… hehe

The last picture I took with my classmates after completing our internship presentation

To the wonderful people who reads my previous blogs, you’ll know what this series is about. To those of you who don’t, I’m disappointed :), HAHA jk, but welcome. This is a series that I do, writing (in a talking tone) about things that happened throughout my diploma semesters, so I have a chance to read them after I graduate! Which will be happening next year. Present: ALREADY GRADUATED AHAHA


There’s no denying that online classes = less experience. When it comes to a diploma, what you expect is a lot of hands-on experiences. So, when classes are done online, I sometimes can’t help but to think about what would’ve been different if we had physical classes instead.

To be honest, I don’t have much to say in this blog. (It has been like this since closing chapter 3 lmao) Because when classes are done online, it just goes by so fast, there’s not much to say other than the usual things students in general would experience. Assignments, bad teammates, assignments, bad sleeping schedule, online exams, and more assignments. AHHAHA


To my DKHP juniors who are reading this, Sem 5 is definitely more challenging than the previous semesters. I can imagine if semester 5 was done physically, it would’ve been more stressful. However, the good thing is that we got to study more about “Vet stuff” in this semester. We get to learn more about the type of diseases that happens in cats/dogs and more clinical stuff. Although we still study about pigs, but there’s less cows in this semester HAHAH Personally, I enjoy clinical subjects more, so I really enjoyed Semester 5. Although it was still done online, the subjects were very interesting. The things you learn in Semester 5 are also very useful for your internship in Sem 6 so I would suggest you pay attention to the lecturer and read up on your materials so you wouldn’t feel dumb when u start your internship.


Ehem, it is now august so I’ve graduated from Sem 5 and even ended my internship for some time HAHA soooo my memory is failing me I am sorry. All I can say is, I enjoyed my internship period, even though there were some hiccups here and there..but I would say I’ve met really great people and made really great friends! Will forever be grateful for the experience. I’ve also learnt wayyyyy more stuff there, especially when the clinic I went to specializes in Dogs and Cats. Here are some pictures of my internship :D

Starting from my year, the internship period was extended to 6 months instead of 3. So I started my internship back in December until May of 2022. For Juniors: You’ll have to complete a report for your internship (duh!) that comes with a ‘special project’. You would have to come up with a topic during your internship and then work on that topic in order to compile enough materials for the presentation and report writing. Your special project can be any topic of your choice as long as it is related to what you are doing in the clinic. If you need examples, many of my classmates did their special project on a specific disease, some did experimental research, and I did mine on the purpose of neutering. Don’t worry too much on the special project because you will be briefed before you start your internship. The lecturer in charge will let you know what you have to do in order to pass your internship. TIP: There are clinics offering paid internships. So, if you are still given the chance to choose where you wanna do your internship, remember to apply for a few and see what their terms and conditions are. Unless you die die wanna go for a specific clinic/hospital and they don’t offer you any money HAHA


3 years, done, just like that. Wow. Ok bye. Email/DM me if you have questions, as usual, I will try my best to answer you. :)


Note: I have received multiple emails from juniors (I assume) asking for more information about DKHP, I am really grateful that so many of You read my blogs! This is exactly why I started writing these blogs :) I truly hope my blogs have given you some insights to what DKHP in UPMKB is like (although majority of my experience was online :( I hope it was still informative in some ways) This will be my last blog regarding DKHP, again, thank you so much for reading and for following this series! I know some of the contents in the recent chapters are dumb HAHA k thanks bye!


Click here for the previous chapter => Closing Chapter 4























479 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

3 comentários


helsi zulaikha
helsi zulaikha
15 de mai.

hi can i ask how many A must we get in spm to get into this course? i really really want to pursue my study in this course but i don't think my results would be excellent T_T

Curtir

winnie phua
winnie phua
04 de jul. de 2023

Can I ask how many A did you get in your SPM and why didn't you get in on the first intake. I'm waiting for my upu results which is coming out on the 7/7/2023 really nervous and I'm hoping to get into upmkb diploma in animal health and husbandry. Really cannot wait for the results and hopefully can get in the course

Curtir
HoneyLisa
HoneyLisa
07 de jul. de 2023
Respondendo a

Hello Winnie! I’m so sorry for my late reply. Hope you got some good news today!


I got 7As in my SPM. Honestly, I don’t know the reason as to why I wasn’t accepted in the first intake. My Group of friends (all second intake) achieved really good SPM results too. Sadly, I believe it's really up to them to decide who they enroll. :(


Hope you got into the programme! x

Curtir
bottom of page